

Canadian Fair Trade Network Annual General Meeting: Meeting Minutes

Day: January 16, 2015 Time: 9:00-10:00am Location: McGill University (New Residence Hall) 3625 Avenue du Parc Board members present: Kaan Williams (BC), Bev Toews (AB), Krista Pineau (regional- QC), Zack Gross (MB), Nadia Berger (ON), Dustin Johnson (Atlantic Canada), Kyra Moshtaghi Nia (MB), Sasha Caldera (non-regional), Nadia Berger (ON)

*Sean McHugh (Ex-Officio)

**Zack Gross served as meeting chair

Meeting Minutes:

- 9:25am: Opening Remarks. Zack welcomed everyone to the AGM. Zack introduced Robert's Rules of Order, checked for language constraints from the audience and found none. Nadia presented the minutes from the 2014 AGM. A motion to accept the minutes was put forward by Marianne Pemberton, seconded by Mireille Saurette. Motion passed at 9:33am
- 2. **9:33am: Review of Agenda** (Zack Gross). Zack gave an overview of the agenda and the board actions. He gave thanks to the board and members. A **motion to accept the agenda** was put forward by Marianne Pemberton, seconded by Kaan Williams's seconds. Motion passed at 9:35am.
- 3. **9:36am: Report from the Board Chair** (Zack Gross). Zack provided an overview of the year from the Chair's perspective:
 - a. Sean applied and received grant from Heritage Canada to be able to translate materials.
 - b. Thank you to EWB, Fair Trade Canada, in-kind donations, organizations, and members
 - c. 2 external challenges for CFTN:
 - i. Certification and labelling how do we sort them out and have the movement work together. CFTN supports FLO but we also will work with the many labels and understand them. Handicraft issue a challenge that we need to address in the following years.
 - ii. An internal challenge faced was funding. Thank you though to Fairtrade Canada for their continued support.
 - d. Thanks to the Board for our strong governance model. Thanks to Bryce Tarling, he has contributed great work. Thanks also to Jessica Frank, Sean McHugh, and the network.
- 4. **9:43am: Review of last year's Annual Report** (Kyra Moshtaghi Nia). Kyra provided a brief walkthrough, with key achievements outlined. A **motion to accept the Annual Report** was put forward by Robert Hudson, seconded by Marianne Pemberton. Motion passed at 9:47am.
- 5. **9:48am: Staff Report from Executive Director** (Sean McHugh). Sean provided a summary of activities in 2014:
 - a. Magazine was a big success with 60,000 copies
 - b. New Guides for Towns and companies have been created (in digital and printed form.)
 - c. Schools have launched too.
 - d. Ottawa U and Trent are now Fair Trade Campuses, with #9 and #10 in the works. The applications are growing with 15 to 16 active campaigns



- e. Sean travelled to Japan in the past year to the Fairtrade Symposium and International Fairtrade Towns Conference where 32 countries are now involved.
- f. Sean was the keynote at CCUFSA
- g. At the Canadian Teachers Federation Conference, Sean presented a draft pamphlet on Fairtrade
- h. Thank you to Bryce for all of his work for CFTN, thank you to Eric St. Pierre, Wade Stewart and Jess Frank for all of their contributions to CFTN
- i. 2015 Priorities:
 - i. Staff at the office and Educational materials
 - ii. Similar campaign calendar with Fairtrade Weeks in May,
 - iii. Handicraft buyers guide, spread to universities and university bookstores
- 6. **9:56am: Presentation of Finances** (Kaan Williams and Sean McHugh). Kaan provided a brief overview of finances for 2014:
 - a. Majority of work was fee-for-service
 - b. EWB has reduced amount given, faster than expected
 - c. Brought up that Sean cut his salary to make up for it
 - d. Conference came out ahead
 - e. Advertising is free to readers, but advertisers pay
 - f. General Overview by Kaan of Revenue and Expenses
 - g. Will be audited by the end of the year
 - h. A motion to accept unaudited financial statements was put forward by Chris Nicol, seconded by Flavia Kilger. Motion passed at 10:02am.

7. 10:03am: Nominations and Elections (Dustin Johnson and Krista Pineau)

- a. Dustin introduced the election slate and asked each person to say a few words
 - i. Avery Gottfried (BC)
 - ii. Lia Walsh (ON)
 - iii. Eric St. Pierre (QC)
 - iv. Sasha Caldera
 - v. Kaan Williams (BC)
 - vi. Zack Gross (MB)
 - vii. To be filled this year (SK)
- b. Directors already sitting from previous AGM: Bev Toews, Kyra Moshtaghi Nia, Bruce Morton, Krista Pineau, Dustin Johnson
 - i. 11 directors on the board, 1 vacancy for SK
- c. Presentation of slate
 - i. A call for nominations from the floor was made
 - ii. Motion to accept the slate as presented was put forward by Chris Nicol, seconded by Anne Winship. Motion passed at 10:25am
- d. Questions
 - i. Would it be useful to have a business representative? Jane Gragtmans asked if a business can be on the Board. Sean answered that the Board is restricted to civil society. Discussion was had around the inclusion of businesses; an FT BIA may be possible which the Corporate Engagement Committee is looking at.
- 8. 10:25am: Closing of the AGM (Krista Pineau)
 - a. Krista closes the meeting.