

The Canadian Fair Trade Network

Board Meeting Minutes (Post AGM)

Date: Friday January 11th, 2013 | **Time**: 5:40pm – 6:10pm

Location: The Hyatt Regency Hotel - 700 Centre Street Southwest, Calgary, AB. T2G 5P6

Room Name: Stephen A/B

Attendees:

1. Kaan Williams (BC)

- 2. Sasha Caldera (BC)
- 3. Kelly James (AB)
- 4. Nancy Allan (SK)
- 5. Zack Gross (MB) Meeting Chair
- 6. Bruce Morton (ON)
- 7. Nadia Berger (ON)
- 8. Shirley Fagnen (QC)
 - * Sean McHugh (BC) (ex-officio)

Meeting Minutes:

Meeting got underway at 5:40pm mountain time

1. Call to Order

Chaired & Notes by Zack Gross

2. Excess Funds

Motion: Nancy Allan - That any excess funds from the CFTN events in Calgary be given to Sean as an Honorarium in recognition of his hard, successful work and his modest pay.

Seconded – Bruce Morton All in favour – Motion carried

3. Signing Officers

Motion: Kaan Williams - That arrangements be made for the following six people to be signing officers for the CFTN, with any two signatures required on any cheque:

- Kaan Williams
- Nadia Berger
- Bruce Morton
- Zack Gross
- Sasha Caldera
- Sean McHugh

Seconder - Bruce Morton

All in favour - Motion carried

4. Forming the Executive

Motion: Kaan Williams – that the following four people be elected as the CFTN's Executive over the coming year:

• Zack Gross (President)



- Nancy Allan (Vice-President)
- Sasha Caldera (Secretary)
- Nadia Berger (Treasurer).

Seconder – Bruce Morton All in favour – Motion carried

5. Next Meeting

Sean will set up a teleconference for Monday, January 21st in the same time zone configuration as previous Board Meetings. Our main focus will be to finish up the Strategic Planning process we have begun here for EWB. Michael Zelmer and Karimah Hudda will be invited to continue their participation in this process. Megan Campbell may also be invited to participate.

6. AGM Concerns

The Board briefly discussed the need to better organize the next AGM, particularly in terms of process and meeting leadership, voting instructions and ballots, and translation of documents where possible.

7. Term Length

Decisions on 1 and 2 year terms:

- 2 year terms Zack Gross, Kaan Williams, Nadia Berger and Sasha Caldera
- 1 year terms Kelly James, Nancy Allan, Bruce Morton, Shirley Fagnen

8. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting – Kaan Williams – 6:10pm Seconded by Sasha Caldera – 6:10pm All in favour – Motion carried